What I have learned over the past 9 months, the life of a missionary can be hard. I left everything that I knew and all of my friends and family to go to a land where God had called me, to a land that I hardly knew. i have been coming to the Navajo Nation for around 15 years, but now it’s real, I actually live here now. The hardest part about living here is with other people, don’t get me wrong they are great people, we just all usually have different opinions on certain issues. There have been a lot of times where I thought about moving back east, getting my job and my money back. It is a hard fact to realize but this is where God wants me and this is where I must stay. Life is really like one of those memes you see, where it says what I look like, what my friends think I look like…ect.

frabz-MINISTRY-What-my-friends-think-I-do-What-my-mom-thinks-I-do-What-409dd6

From the outside looking in it looks like we as missionary’s have all the fun, no job, living for free, always hiking, always eating good, but that isn’t always the truth. In fact we work most days, a missionary’s life is his/her job and it’s never done. Just because we do not get paid, doesn’t mean that we do not work hard. We have a food pantry so we are open two days a week, we pick up food from the food bank, take it back date and sort it, rearrange when needed, which is pretty often. Also that goes for the warehouse, we constantly get new things in, so we have to make room for that stuff before it comes in. On top of that we keep the property clean and that really is a lot of work in of itself. Watering the gardens and pulling weeds is a consent everyday task. What most people see is that we do a lot of hiking, while this is true it is also free and keeps us in shape, By the way N.M. has some fantastic views! giphy.gif

Pyramid trail has to be one of my favorite views so far, it has some what of a easy hike, just long, but it is so worth it! That is a hobby I think that we all have in common here, that so far is only the work side and the fun side of being on the mission field, the hard and sad parts are coming up. We actually live on the Navajo Reservation, which is a cool thing so that we learn a lot more than being outside of the Res. They have no water rights, which means most do not have running water, and if they do much like us you can’t drink it or it’s much safer to not. They will have to drive an upwards of 5 hours to a windmill that pumps water out of the ground, just to fill up barrels with that water. So they can do the basic stuff like wash their hands, clothes, dishes, you get the general idea. It’s hard to hear stories like, when we get people asking us if we have water everytime that we are open and right now we have to say no, but we are praying for some water to come in. What we need is a grant so we can build some wells across the Res. I still remember when I was around 15, coming out here and staying at a church in Pinehill N.M. with no water for a week, using outhouses, (yeah, outhouses are still a big thing out here) the kids still didn’t seem to mind, they were still happier than the kids I saw back home. We still live outside of Gallup N.M. and there are a lot of homeless here, we wished we could all just give them a home, but that’s almost impossible. This one time we were at Blake’s burger joint sitting outside eating and having a good time, this guy comes up and just sits down at one of the tables across from us. He starts talking to us a little bit. You could tell that he was homeless, and not once did he ask for money or even food, so my friend gave him the rest of his food and some water from his truck and the guy was so happy for that, and I was heartbroken by the situation. I know it’s a random blog, but the life of a missionary is fun, is wonderful, but it’s not without its hardships and will break your heart in more ways than one. It is all about over coming, about changing, and that’s all done with prayer through Jesus.                                     btw this in my first time using GIFS so no hate 🙂

giphy (1).gif

