This one is called agape love 2 because if you remember I just recently wrote a blog called Agape; that blog was about a friend. The question I began to wonder was “Do I really know what agape love is…?”  I know what I’ve heard “it’s God’s type of love”, but I have never studied it until tonight. I was feeling lead to do a study on it the past couple of days and as always, life can slip by before you even know what happened. I stayed home from church even, to study because the feeling was getting stronger! Really how deep does the agape meaning go? I spent the evening searching the different meanings of love in the Bible: Agape, Eros, and Phillia. All three are different types of the word love, the same love that we, who speak American English, have clumped into everything. We often say we love one another, yet we say we love ice cream or mountain climbing, we say I love you to the wife or the husband. We have grown to only know one type of the meaning of love. On that same scale we classified the love we have with our own spouse with the same love as say food, and that just isn’t right on any level.

giphy (5).gif

Agape love is selfless, sacrificial, unconditional, and it is considered the highest of the 3 types. 1st John 4:8 – He that loveth not knoweth not God: for God is Love (Agape), God is Love! You will not truly know love without God, God is the Agape. 1st John 4:20-21 – If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother when he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen? If you can have hate for your brother, then you do not have an agape love, so how can you really, truly love God? You can’t, Eros or Philia God! A philia kinda love won’t make you lay your life down for anyone, because it is still a selfish type of love if you leave God out of it. Eros is a romantic or intimate love and can even mean lust, Philia is a close friendship or brotherly love.

By scriptures we know that we must have an agape love to get into heaven. Have you ever heard the saying “I don’t have to like you, but I have to love you”? I have, I have actually said it as well. That isn’t any kind of love at all, that is very selfish because it’s as if you are saying that you are being forced to love them. That is very far from the truth, you are not forced to love anyone. If you LOVE God then you will love everyone else as well. The difference is, you can hate their sin, you can hate the demon. Jesus didn’t die on the cross for us to love them, they have made their bed and they are happily laying in it. what I’m trying to say is there is no redemption for them and hate for those things will be different than a hate for a living person with a free will.

Anyway’s….. If you Love God and you follow His commandments, the love in you will show to everyone, the drunks, the smokers, the cussers, the atheist and the list goes on.  In to understanding that love, better yet you need a personal relationship with Jesus, talk to Him. Pray all the time, read His word, study His word, and learn from Him. You can’t just say Jesus I love you and love everyone too, it doesn’t quite work like that. Luke 10:27 – Thou shalt love (agape) the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind and thy neighbor as thy self… Example of Agape! Example of God. Now think about this God loves you the same kind of way. That should make you smile! Come on smile! 🙂    Romans 5:8 But God commendeth His love (agape) toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us! I mean come on how amazing is that?  In John 15:13  – Greater love (agape) hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends… God loves us with an agape type of love, but yes we do still have free will, we still have that choice to reject Him. He loves us and well the rest is our choice, Heaven or Hell… looking at it through a sinners point of view, you may be thinking how in the world can I love everyone? You want me to love the one who just punched me in the face? Love the one who just cut me off in traffic? IDK Lord, that seems too hard… And you would be correct if you do not have God, Jesus and the Holy Ghost!

renew

We are all ment to have an agape love for everyone, so where then do eros and philia come in? You can still have those types of love on top of agape but those will not be for everyone. For your closes friends that will be a philia love below the agape love, double love. A deep love, a deep bond between friends. Same goes for eros but I won’t get into that. 🙂

So Just remember you do have to love (agape) every single person to be a follow of God. I hope that you have learned some thing new as I have. Next time before I post something, I should fully understand the meaning.    Just one final thing to say… Could it be that, why so many church’s are failing or why so many church’s have corruption, is because the Shepard has a philia love and not an agape love??    all scripture is from KJV

